Reverse the scan of Iterator

I'm working on a Rust implementation of the Trapping Rain Water programming problem. I have a partial solution that looks idiomatic, although I am a beginner so any help in that respect is appreciated. The problem I am having is that I cannot take the reverse of a scan. Which I need in order to compute the right-to-left prefix scan max operation.

I tried to reason about the type system at first it doesn't seem possible to take the reverse of a scan, since the scan operation produces results on-demand. OTOH since Vector is an ExactSizeIterator can't we take advantage of this fact to reverse the scan for this specific trait?

Here's my current implementation. It doesn't compile because I try to reverse the scan.

use std::cmp;

fn scan_max(max: &mut u32, elem: u32) -> Option<u32> {
    *max = cmp::max(*max, elem);
    Some(*max)
}

pub fn capacity(heights: Vec<u32>) -> u32 {

let left_max = heights.iter().scan(0, |max, &e| scan_max(max, e));

let right_max = heights.iter().rev().scan(0, |max, &e| scan_max(max, e)).rev();

let min = left_max.zip(right_max).map(|(l, r)| cmp::min(l, r));

let delta = heights.iter().zip(min).map(|(h, m)| m - h);

delta.fold(0, |sum, x| sum + x)
}

#[test]
fn test_capacity() {
    let heights = vec![2,6,3,5,2,8,1,4,2,2,5,3,5,7,4,1];
    assert_eq!(capacity(heights), 35);
}

Does .rev() before .scan() work?

Yup it's valid to .rev() before .scan(). The catch is that I need to reverse() before the scan() and then I need to reverse() again after the scan.

So I was talking to some people on IRC, and this is my understanding of the situation. Iterators are lazy, and since Scan is a stateful iterator, you would first need to consume Scan in its entirity before calling reverse. So I'm guessing that you will need to ::collect() after scanning and before reversing.