Rev() on an iterating element

I'm new to rust. trying solve some simple problems and ran into something.

use std::io;
use std::cmp::Ordering;

fn main(){
    let mut in1=String::new();
    io::stdin()
        .read_line(&mut in1).unwrap();                      //a number specifying he number of elements in the input eg 6
    let in1:i32=in1.trim().parse().unwrap();
    let in1 = in1/2;
    let mut in2= String::new();
    io::stdin()
        .read_line(&mut in2).unwrap();                      //input of an array in the format number number number etc. rg : 233 456 665 8239 361 0912
    let mut i=1;
    let mut fwd=String::new();
    for element in in2.split(' '){
        fwd.push_str(
            match i.cmp(&in1){
                // Ordering::Greater=>&element.rev()[..1],  //supposed to be the least significant digit of the number 
                Ordering::Greater=>
                    &element[..1],
                _ =>
                    &element[..1],                          //most significant digit of the number
            }

);
        i+=1;
    }
    println!("{}",fwd);
    /* ^^ number having most significant digits of the first half of the input and least significant digits of the second half
            by the example this number should be 246912*/ 

}

when i tried to rev() on the iterating element i'm getting this error

error[E0599]: the method `rev` exists for reference `&str`, but its trait bounds were not satisfied
  --> src\main.rs:19:45
   |
19 |                 Ordering::Greater=>&element.rev()[..1],
   |                                             ^^^ method cannot be called on `&str` due to unsatisfied trait bounds
   |
   = note: the following trait bounds were not satisfied:
           `&str: Iterator`
           which is required by `&mut &str: Iterator`
           `str: Iterator`
           which is required by `&mut str: Iterator`

For more information about this error, try `rustc --explain E0599`.