Returning a struct alongside a slice of one of its fields

I’m new to Rust and am proud to have finally hit my first impasse with the borrow checker. Here’s a pared-down example that’s giving me trouble.

I am processing a futures::stream::Stream of tweets from Twitter. Each tweet is a Tweet struct containing the tweet’s id and text. For each tweet I would like to perform an analysis of its text, which starts by breaking it up into a vector of Parts. Each Part references a slice of the original tweet text and categorizes it as either a “word” or “whitespace” using an enum. Finally, I would like to map this stream of Tweets to a tuple containing the tweet and its text’s analysis.

It is a design goal to keep exactly one copy of the tweet’s text around, partly for memory-efficiency and partly to practice running into ownership issues like this one, so I am not interested in utilizing clones or copies. I am also feeling-out the ability to write modular code with Rust, so I’m very interested in solutions that speak to better design choices. In particular, I hoped to implement the annotated::to_parts function shown below in a reusable way, but my approach may have caused issues.

Finally, here are the relevant bits of code,

// src/main.rs

tweet_stream.map(|tweet| {

let parts = annotated::to_parts(&tweet.text);

(tweet, parts)
})
// ...

// src/annotated.rs

pub fn to_parts(string: &str) -> Vec<Part> {
    // ...
}

#[derive(Debug, PartialEq)]
pub enum Part<'a> {
    Word(&'a str),
    Whitespace(&'a str),
}

// src/twitter.rs

#[derive(Deserialize, Debug)]
pub struct Tweet {
    #[serde(rename = "id_str")]
    pub id: String,
    pub text: String
}

(Playground)

And here are my errors,

error[E0515]: cannot return value referencing local data `tweet.text`
  --> src/main.rs:62:13
   |
60 |             let parts = annotated::to_parts(&tweet.text);
   |                                             ----------- `tweet.text` is borrowed here
61 |