Returning a String/str from an i32

I'm a Rust newbie here, I have an Option that I need to convert to an Option<&str> and not matter what I've tried I get:

error[E0515]: cannot return value referencing temporary value
   --> main.rs:104:13
    |
104 |             convert(&Some(s))
    |             ^^^^^^^^^-------^
    |             |        |
    |             |        temporary value created here
    |             returns a value referencing data owned by the current function

Here's my latest attempt based upon posts here

pub fn convertInteger(input: &Option<i32>) -> Option<&str> {
    match input {
        None => None,
        //
        Some(i) => {
            let s = i.to_string();
            Some(s.as_str())
        }
    }
}

A reference needs to borrow from something, ie. an owned value. If the value it borrows from lives inside the function, then you can't return a reference into it (since the owned value would be gone by the time the function returned).

Thus, a function with a signature like (&u32) -> &str is a code smell and likely has no useful implementation.

If you want to convert an integer to a string, then return String.

I appreciate the response and I agree that the function is likely overkill.

What I'm attempting to do is a classic data mapping from one struct to another and the source Struct has Option and the target type has Option<&str> thus I wanted to confirm that the value is present before the conversion.

I also tried it inline with the source object's field and that gave me the same error:

target_field: Some(input.field.unwrap_or_default().to_string().as_str())

Here you have a problem, as H2CO3 said, you are using a reference to a value that will get destroyed at the end of the function.

I think that the second structure don't match your use case. Could you show me your structs and write a few lines on your use case please :innocent: (But as he said, you probably really want String and not &str)