Return Iterator over self.vec

I am very new to Rust and already blown away by its beauty and.. "simplificity " :b

I am writing a struct to store a matrix. The struct has a vector of vectors and k, l for dimensions.

struct Matrix {
mat : Vec<Vec< i32>>,
k : usize ,
l : usize,
}

I want to implement a method which returns an Iterator over the Elements over a row.

fn getRow(&self, k : usize)-> Box<Iterator<Item = i32>>{
Box::new(self.mat[k].iter())
}

As I vaguely understood, I cannot return an Iterator, so I boxed it.
However I get the following error messages

error[E0271]: type mismatch resolving <std::slice::Iter<'_, i32> as std::iter::Iterator>::Item == i32
--> src/main.rs:44:9
|
44 | Box::new(self.mat[k].iter())
| ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ expected reference, found i32
|
= note: expected type &i32
found type i32
= note: required for the cast to the object type dyn std::iter::Iterator<Item=i32>

I was speculating, that it has to do with lifetimes. However the introduction of a generalized lifetime 't does not help me very much

You can, if you use the impl Trait feature. The lifetime part comes in there because Vec::iter() returns references to the underlying elements, but your signature was claiming the iterator returns i32 (but due to references, it's actually returning &i32). Along the same lines, the returned iterator is keeping a borrow over the Vec, which in turns keeps the borrow over self (your Matrix). You need to indicate this in the signature. All that summed up looks like this:

fn get_row<'a>(&'a self, k: usize) -> impl Iterator<Item = i32> + 'a {
    self.mat[k].iter().cloned()
}

Note we stick a cloned() call - that clones each element as it traverses, yielding an owned value (i32, rather than &i32). We're still borrowing the vec (iterators are lazy, and don't do anything until you traverse them), so we indicate the lifetime relationship between borrowing self and the returned iterator.

3 Likes