Replacing text in windows executables

Hi All,

I'm trying to write a poor mans asdf replacement for windows and for that I needed to create shims. I'm new to windows and completely ignorant about binary files. The idea is to create a shim for each command we're handling in a directory which is in the PATH. The shim will then invoke an asdf.exe command which calculates the required version and in turn call the real exe file. In order to make it as fast as possible, I thought how I would embed all the non dynamic data inside the shim so I'll need to do as little as possible when running the command (e.g. the plugin the executable belongs to, etc).

So I thought of the most naive solution which would be to do a binary search/replace of the content of the original shim and write it modified to the file system. Here is what I came up with for replacing string in the shim (using bstr create):

use bstr::ByteSlice;
use std::{
    fs::{self, File},
    io::Read,
};

fn main() {
    let mut f = File::open("./TMP/shim.exe").unwrap();
    let mut bts: Vec<u8> = vec![];
    f.read_to_end(&mut bts).unwrap();
    let new = &bts.replace("WORLDXXX!", "Replaced!");
    fs::write("./new.exe", &new).unwrap();
    println!("wrote new.exe!");
}

Amazingly enough it seems to work :slight_smile: . I have the original executable (which outputs "Hello WORLDXXX!") in the TMP directory and I'm creating a new executable with replaced output.

My question is, Is it a valid solution? Or maybe it could fail on many use cases?

Anyone with experience with binary files, please advise?

Thanks

Haim