Referencing functions inside impls that have a lifetime

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Rust and loving it. There's one thing I haven't got my head around yet, and this code demonstrates it:

struct Data<'a> {
    x: &'a String
}

impl<'a> Data<'a> {
    fn printer(&self) {
        println!("{}", self.x);
    }
}

fn main() {
    let s = "My String".to_string();
    let data = Data { x: &s };

let handler: fn(&Data) = Data::printer;

handler(&data);
}

Compiling this gets the error "expected concrete lifetime, found bound lifetime parameter". I've Googled this error and haven't found a scenario similar enough so I can make sense of what it's saying.

I know if I get rid of the 'a lifetime on Data, everything works fine. If I make the printer function take a &Data as its argument instead of using &self, it also works fine.

My ultimate use of this construct is to have a const array that defines a bunch of method pointers for a parser. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

Note that this works fine if you drop the fn(&Data) bit and let type inference do its thing.

(playground link)

The technical reason for why you're getting this error (or my understanding of it anyway) is that 'a in the Data impl is meant to be linked to the concrete lifetime of some actual object, but when you reference it using the type (Data::printer), it doesn't know what object to bind the lifetime to.

When I'm designing an API I generally try to either be generic over any type of callable so people can use closures, you can't store an array of closures though because each closure is its own type and arrays can only contain homogeneous types.