Reference lifetimes borrowed value do not live long enough

I am new to rust and am trying to work through reference lifetimes. I am unable to understand why the program compiles if self.rate.insert(&vertex, inner_matrix) is uncommented.

pub struct Vertex {
  pub exchange: String,
  pub currency: String,
  pub last_updated: u64
}

impl Vertex {
  pub fn new(exchange: String, currency: String, last_updated: u64) -> Vertex {
    Vertex {
      exchange, currency, last_updated
    }
  }
}

impl Hash for Vertex {
  fn hash<H: Hasher>(&self, state: &mut H) {
    self.exchange.hash(state);
    self.currency.hash(state);
  }
}

impl PartialEq for Vertex {
  fn eq(&self, other: &Vertex) -> bool {
    self.exchange == other.exchange && self.currency == other.currency
  }
}

#[derive(Debug)]
pub struct Graph<'a> {
  vertices: HashSet<&'a Vertex>,
  rate: HashMap<&'a Vertex, HashMap<&'a Vertex, f64>>, // stores the edge weights between each pair of vertex
  next: HashMap<&'a Vertex, HashMap<&'a Vertex, &'a Vertex>>, // stores vertices to reconstruct the path for best rate from vertex i to j
}

impl<'a> Graph<'a> {
  pub fn new() -> Graph<'a> {
    Graph {
      vertices: HashSet::new(),
      rate: HashMap::new(),
      next: HashMap::new()
    }
  }

pub fn add_vertex(&mut self, vertex: Vertex) {
    match self.vertices.get(&vertex) {
      Some(inner_matrix) => {
        // Do stuff
      },
      None => {
        let mut inner_matrix: HashMap<&Vertex, f64> = HashMap::new();
        inner_matrix.insert(&vertex, 0.0);

// Error if uncomment any line below
        self.rate.insert(&vertex, inner_matrix);
        // self.vertices.insert(&vertex);
      }
    }
  }
}

Compiler error
impl<'a> Graph<'a> {
| – lifetime 'a defined here

142 | inner_matrix.insert(&vertex, 0.0);
| ^^^^^^^ borrowed value does not live long enough

145 | self.rate.insert(&vertex, inner_matrix);
| --------------------------------------- argument requires that vertex is borrowed for 'a

149 | }