Reference documentation of Block Expressions

For a school project I am writing a rust compiler/interpeter. I have some questions about the grammar listed in The rust reference about block expressions.

In the grammar it states that a block expressions consists of optional statements. These statements are 0 or more Statement with an optional ExpressionWithoutBlock.

But a bit lower it says: " The syntax for a block is { , then any inner attributes, then any number of statements, then an optional expression, called the final operand, and finally a } ."

This piece of text seams more correct than the grammar, since the following code is correct when the last semicolon is missing:

fn check_value() -> i32 {
    {
    }
}

But when I add that semicolon, it gives a type error that there is no tail in the body:

fn check_value() -> i32 {
    {
    };
}

So by experimenting it seems that the ExpressionWithoutBlock really should be just an Expression in the grammar.

Since I am not an expert at all in rust I wanted to ask here if I am interpreting this correctly?

In your first example, the {4} expression is the final operand of the function. In your second example, the {4} expression is just a statement, and the function has no final operand.

To be clear, both examples are valid according to the grammar. It just doesn't type check.

2 Likes

Looks like you rediscovered an inaccuracy… well, or at least confusing presentation[1]… in the grammar, as reported in