Recursive Structs with Base Case

Hi there, I’m new to Rust: most of my background is in C, and reading about the Rust type system I fell in love with the Enums and Structs rust has.

I was wondering if maybe I could use this power to model problems in a more direct way than what’s usually done. Specifically, I’m thinking about recursive structures.

In C - and as far as I understand - in Rust, if you want to have a recursive struct, you will have to use pointers so the compiler can figure out the size of the struct on compile time. But what if I know the struct has a base case, and the instances of this struct are defined with constants?

I wanted to use this to model some multidimensional geometry for a project I have:

In terms of points only, if we are in an M-dimensional space:

A 0-D hypercube is an M-D vector (also known as point)
A 1-D hypercube is two 0-D hypercubes (also known as line segment)
A 2-D hypercube is two 1-D hypercubes (also known as square)
A 3-D hypercube is two 2-D hypercubes (also known as cube)

A N-D hypercube is two (N-1)-D hypercubes.

I want to be able to define this struct in a recursive manner using generics, specifying the base case: 0-D.

// An M-Dimensional vector
struct vector<M : usize> {
  coords: f64[M],
}

// A 0-dimensional hypercube living in an M-dimensional space
struct hypercube<0, M> {
  point: vector<M>,
}

// An N-dimensional hypercube living in an M-dimensional space
struct hypercube<N : usize, M : usize> {
  left: hypercube<N - 1, M>,
  right: hypercube<N - 1, M>,
}

If then in my code I create a hypercube specifying a constant, the compiler should be able to unroll it using the base case and figure out the size of that struct. For example:

fn main() {
    let cube_in_4d: hypercube<3, 4>; // This will have 2^3 = 8 4-dimensional vertices
}