Recommended resources to learn MPSC in Rust

Hi, I am looking to multithread my ray tracer, and it seems an MPSC system with multiple producer threads and one consumer thread would be the best way to go. However, I don't have much practical experience writing multithreaded programs (pragma omp does not count), so I was wondering if there are some nice resources that can help me out.

I'm already going through Chapter 16 of TRPL for the fundamentals of multithreading in rust, and the docs for MPSC. Apart from that, does anyone know of any good resources?

Thanks!

(Note that I'm not a big expert on Concurrency in Rust, and I haven't fully examined everything below, but it is certainly a topic of great interest to me)

In no particular order, here are some of the things I can remember to look up:

I could have sworn that there were another one or two good resources out there, but I can't seem to find them now. When it comes to searching for other resources, my recommendations would be to start with the most recent articles, since there's been a lot of change with regards to concurrency for Rust in the last few years, and also to prioritise material written by the Rust team and the authors of the various concurrency crates out there. This is not to say that others wouldn't have written a lot of good stuff, but it is possible that some material out there was written by people who don't really know what they're talking about, and it could be difficult to spot.

3 Likes

There isn't that much magic to them. Write the results to a Vec and send it to the parent thread.

Things you may want to be aware of:

• The crossbeam crate has a more efficient channel than the one in std.
  • An alternate way of sending values is to return it from the closure given to thread::spawn. In this case the value can be obtaining by calling join on the JoinHandle returned by the spawn function.