Receive an async function as a parameter

Hello,

Rust async beginner here. I'm struggling with using async fns as callbacks. The callback type seems elusive and I don't understant what the error is trying to tell me. My code is:

struct Message{
  data: u32
}

pub async fn send_metric(delivery: &Message) {
    dbg!(delivery);
}

pub async fn consume_from_queue(queue_addr: &str, delivery_callback:  impl Fn(&Message) -> futures::Future<Output=()> ) -> Result<(), Error> {
    Ok(())
}

I would like to pass the first function as a parameter to the second one. Essentially I'd like to do:

consume_from_queue("queue_name", send_metric);

but the error I get is:

error[E0271]: type mismatch resolving `for<'r> <for<'_> fn(&Message) -> impl core::future::future::Future {mq_consumer::send_metric} as std::ops::FnOnce<(&'r Message,)>>::Output == (dyn core::future::future::Future<Output = ()> + 'static)`
  --> metrics/src/mq_consumer_test.rs:18:5
   |
18 |     crate::mq_consumer::consume_from_queue(&MQ_URL, crate::mq_consumer::send_metric);
   |     ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ expected opaque type, found trait core::future::future::Future
   | 
  ::: metrics/src/mq_consumer.rs:8:14
   |
8  | pub async fn consume_from_queue(addr: &str, delivery_callback:  impl Fn(&Message) -> futures::Future<Output=()> ) -> Result<(), Error> {
   |              ------------------                                                      -------------------------- required by this bound in `mq_consumer::consume_from_queue`
   |
   = note: expected type `impl core::future::future::Future`
              found type `(dyn core::future::future::Future<Output = ()> + 'static)`

Any help would be greatly apreciated!

You should also be getting a warning about omitting the dyn keyword. Because Future is a trait, specifying it as the return type here doesn't make.

What you're trying to express here is "delivery_callback is a function that takes a &Message and returns a future of some type."