Rebinding variables with let

Hello Rust community,

I am a total Rust noob, curious about the language and started reading the manual. My background is from dynamic programming languages but I have written in C, C++, D. When I saw let rebinding a variable symbol to a different type in the manual within the same scope I thought it had to be a mistake. Then I tried it on the compiler:

let mut x: i32 = 1;
x *= 3;
println!("Initial value of x: {}", x);
let x = "Hello World!";
println!("Next value x: {}", x);

it compiled and ran. I couldn't believe it! I find this feature very intriguing and wonder how it works - is it a runtime or a compile time feature, and how is the variable x managed? Does this rebinding carry a performance cost?

They are completely different variables.
So, the code is not logically different from this:

let mut x1: i32 = 1;
x1 *= 3;
println!("Initial value of x: {}", x1);
let x2 = "Hello World!";
println!("Next value x: {}", x2);

The only difference is that in your code, both variables share the same name.
The second is hiding the first one and you cannot use the first variable while the second is in scope.

I see, so the scope of the first x is from when it is first declared to when the second let statement re-declares it. Can I also extrapolate from what you are saying that this variable scope resolution occurs at compile time and does not carry a run-time performance cost?

Right, this is compile-time only feature - no runtime cost.

That's awesome.

Thanks

If by scope you mean "when can I refer to this variable", then yes, if "when this variable is alive", then no.
Consider the following code:

let x = 5;
let x_reference = &x;
let x = "foo";
println!("{}", x_reference);

This code compiles! For the x_reference to be valid at the time of printing, the original x variable has to be actually alive even after the let x = "foo".

This behaviour is actually useful sometimes, consider this example (type annotations added for clarity):