Reading larger than memory file as char

Is there a nice rustean way to read a file larger than memory as characters (char, utf32)?

I've written Rust code to do this but it's ~ 100 lines and I feel like there should be something simpler (I'm very new to Rust).

That code uses ReadBuf to get the file in blocks as utf8, then uses str::from_utf8 to check if the string is valid (cause the block might end in the middle of a unicode char), adjusts the slice if there is a problem (move the invalid bytes to the head of the next buffer), then uses the chars() enumeration to get the data has char.

It seems like there should be some-sort of slick pipeline to do this and I'm afraid not really leveraging "the way of Rust" and I'd rather not develop bad habits from the get-go.

I don't think there is a super simple way, but maybe you can take inspiration from this code.

Since you have a buffered reader, you can do a somewhat cleaner solution as follows: Don't read in blocks, rather reads exact number of bytes. If you read the definition section of the UTF8 RFC, then you'll see that the number of bytes to be read per char is fixed and determined by the first byte. So you can do something on the following line:

fn read_file<P: AsRef<Path>>(path: P) -> Result<(), Box<dyn Error>> {
    let mut file = File::open(read_file)?;
    let mut reader = BufReader::new(file);
    let mut buf = [0_u8; 4]; // Max 4 bytes per char in UTF-8
    loop {
        // Get the bytes for the char
        reader.read_exact(&buf[..1])?;
        let char_len = find_char_len(buf[0]); // This is a simple lookup
        reader.read_exact(&buf[1..char_len])?;
        // Now decode the char
        buf[char_len..].fill(0);
        let ch = str::from_utf8(&buf)?.chars().next().unwrap();
        // Now do something with this char
    }
}

Edit: I have changed the decoding logic wrt the comments from @bradleyharden and @H2CO3

The utf8-chars crate looks like it might do the trick here.