Reading and parsing TLV data from a TCP stream

Hi!

I'm pretty new to rust, and still working my way through tutorials and books and such.

One thing I wasn't able to find a clear answer to, is what is the most "rust-y" way of reading and parsing data out of a tcp stream (and later on, writing). I don't wish to force a particular serialization scheme (hence, using json or some other serde), and in some scenarios - I can't.

My data is a relatively simple TLV construct, for the sake of the example let's assume type: u16, length: u32, data - according to length.

I would like to read the 6 byte header from the stream, then read the amount of data I'm supposed to - then do some additional parsing based on the type.

In python I'd use struct.pack or unpack. In C I'd read the bytes into a struct representing what I want.
I'm not what's the rust way of doing such a thing. From what I read:

• serde & friends didn't seem like a good choice since it forces a protocol. (unless I'm mistaken? Should I impl. my own?)
  • Converting memory representations also didn't feel quite right as the default for rust is not to assume a certain memory layout on a struct.
  • comparing lists of bytes seems cumbersome. Can I somehow do a nice match-enum on the "legal" types and get the length from the struct?

I don't care much for speed in this context - it's mostly a learning exercise. I want to know how an experienced rust programmer would tackle this problem.

I wasn't able to find what I was looking for while digging the internet, so any references would be very welcome.

Thanks a lot, I appreciate the help!

You can the frame in the following way:

let mut header = [0u8; 6];
tcp.read_exact(&mut header)?;
let frame_type = u16::from_be_bytes([header[0], header[1]]);
let frame_len = u32::from_be_bytes([header[2], header[3], header[4], header[5]]);

let mut frame = vec![0u8; frame_len as usize];
tcp.read_exact(&mut frame)?;

To match on the type, you could use a pattern like this: