Rayon like library

I'm kind of new to rust and been blown away with Rayon. So to try and understand it better, I found a similar project to work from called Rayoff https://github.com/aeyakovenko/rayoff. I used this as a base and experimented with different ways to increase the speed.

The current result looks something like this: https://github.com/JackThomson2/Threadpooler excuse the name. I had no idea what to call it.

Any feedback / tips would be greatly appreciated.

@JackThomson2, welcome aboard :slightly_smiling_face:

Well, the repo you are basing your project off, https://github.com/aeyakovenko/rayoff, is already making mistakes:

• some patterns are code smells (such as using extern "C" callbacks when no FFI is happening),

• and some are actually unsound :warning: (such as misusing @Michael-F-Bryan's FFI closure unpacking to obtain a dangling pointer).

• Aside: @Michael-F-Bryan, it seems that the issues I pointed out about your API being a bit error-prone (no lifetime in the returned value) are indeed biting readers of your blog post; what do you think of trying to refactor your API into a scoped API, with an example of misuage? (using the pointer outside the scope)

So it's a pretty bad start for your project, @JackThomson2 :sweat_smile:

A general tip when starting with Rust, is to try and avoid doing unsafe code until the language is mastered, or at least, doing it alone: do ask for reviews! Indeed, unsafe code is subtle and error-prone, it is therefore quite hard; it is actually harder than just coding in C.

Trying to put in in "Socrates' paradox terms":

Although I do not suppose that either of us knows [how to write correct unsafe code], I am better off than they are – for they know nothing, and think that they know. I neither know nor think that I know.
– Socrustes