Questions from a Scala Tooling developer

Hi all,

I went on holiday and read “The Book” and I am extremely impressed by Rust!

I am primarily a Scala developer, and an active contributor to libre software. I am one of the maintainers of http://ensime.org which brings IDE-like features to text editors (Emacs, Atom, Vim, etc) for Scala and Java. It’s fair to say that I am deeply involved with the Scala tooling community so naturally I have a lot of questions around Rust tooling :slight_smile:

I also have a few language / library questions that I’ll tag on at the end.

It would be great if you could help me out by reading my questions around Rust tooling and answering, if you can!

Tooling

ENSIME equivalent for Rust?

I understand that there is no interactive (aka presentation) compiler interface yet for Rust. Are there any plans to create one? Can I help you?

I would be very happy to discuss the architecture of a Rust language server further, leaning on my experiences in Scala, so please reach out to me about this if you’re a Rust compiler developer. I think the ENSIME model would work very well for you and you might want to consider being vscode compliant from the beginning to make it easier for editors to support Rust.

Actually I would love to write the Rust equivalent of ENSIME, but unfortunately my spare time is spread too thinly already so this could only realistically happen if somebody were to fund me to do it :frowning:

IMHO it’s tooling like this that makes or breaks a language, so hint hint :wink:

Emacs setup

Is there a tutorial for setting up Emacs to write Rust applications? e.g. for basic major mode, build tool support and a .ctags setup. I mena in depth, not just “install rust-mode and flymake-rust” (a flycheck plugin would be pretty useful).

Rustaceans in London?