Questions about tokio/futures and RwLock

Hi,
I'm just a hobby programmer coming from garbage collected programming languages like javascript etc, and I'm stating to wrap my head around how to handle shared mutable state. I'm working on a server using tokio and I would really appreciate if anyone could take their time to answer some questions I have and see if I've understood how to use smart pointers in tokio correctly. :slight_smile:

Basically my situation is that I have a struct that hold information that some futures will read from and a few futures will write to. Using a RwLock seems approipriate, I think. However, if I understand tokio correctly using the blocking .read() or .write() on the RwLock would halt the entire program if any other future holds a (writing) lock, unless I spawn futures on different threads. Right?

So the solution would be to spawn a future that tries to read/write on the RwLock by using the try_read() and try_write() methods and if a lock can't be acquired, the future should return Ok(Async::NotReady). This will tell the event loop to leave this future and come back to it later, maybe after executing some other futures that have been spawned unto the event loop. (Am I still correct?)

Now there is one thing that's worrying me. That is, if I try to acquire a write-lock on my RwLock, but someone else is reading it, the future trying to get the lock will have to wait. But what happens if during this time, another future gets a read lock before the first one dropped the lock and then another one gets a write lock before the second one drops it and so on... I know this might be rare, but I expect many readers. Could this mean that a writer could have to wait indefinatly to get a lock?