Question: How to write more idiomatic Rust and Hyper?

I’m completely new to the Rust language and my first project to help learn Rust is a simple web server.
This web server users the Futures and Hyper crate, to call out to an external JSON api and return a single value from the JSON response.

After a lot of failed attempts, I finally got my program to compile and run, it works beautifully. However, I can’t help but feel like I’m doing things wrong, or non-idiomatically.

My code for my server:

I think particularly, I would like to know how to compose or write futures that don’t need to follow the
.and_then(...).map(|x| {x}) to do some computation and to return a value.

I feel like I’m doing this wrong but don’t understand how Hyper uses futures properly enough to write it better.

Cheers,

Justin

Why do you have those map(|x| x) calls there?

Also, you shouldn’t need a Box in the following:

Box::new(
              futures::future::ok(
                Response::new()
                  .with_status(StatusCode::Ok)
                  .with_body(url))
            )

You can take advantage of the fact that a Result<T, E> has an IntoFuture impl - that means you can replace the above with:

Ok(Response::new()
                  .with_status(StatusCode::Ok)
                  .with_body(url))
      )

I was getting compiler warnings when I was hacking on this last night, and adding the .map() onto the ends was just the first thing that worked. I can’t remember the warnings or how I haved transformed my code since then, but removing .map() worked like you said it would.

Thank you for the sanity check and for the info about Result<T, E>.

It’s important to keep in mind the difference between and_then and map, which might be the source of confusion.

and_then is defined to return something that implements IntoFuture. This is useful if the body does something asynchronous, and returns some type that implements Future (all Futures are also IntoFuture).