14 | fn func2<'a>(arg : &'a mut Big<'a>) -> i32 {
   |          -- lifetime `'a` defined here
15 |         let res = func1(arg);
   |                   ----------
   |                   |     |
   |                   |     first mutable borrow occurs here
   |                   argument requires that `*arg` is borrowed for `'a`
16 |         println!("small doto {}", &mut arg.unit.doto);
   |                                   ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ second mutable borrow occurs here

For more information about this error, try `rustc --explain E0499`.

I don't understand why the compiler thinks that I'm borrowing mutably more than once. It issues seem to disappear if I remove the lifetime annotations of the references. Would anyone be able to enlighten a beginner here? Thanks!

If I understand correctly: To be able to call func1 from func2, the argument types must be compatible. This means that Big<'a> in func1 must refer to the same type as the Big<'a> in func2. This means that the two 'as must refer to the same lifetime. This means that because the 'a in func2 must obviously last at least the duration of the function call, the reborrow of arg by func1 must also last as long (because they're literally the same lifetime)! This means that even after func1 returns, the compiler cannot let you borrow arg again because for all it knows, func1's borrow of arg is still ongoing (it might have stowed the reference somewhere! In this case it did not, but its signature allows it do to so, and Rust by design does not peek inside functions to see what they really do with borrows, it must all be in the signature.)

This works for me:

-fn func1<'a>(arg : &'a mut Big<'a>) -> i32 {
+fn func1<'a: 'b, 'b>(arg : &'b mut Big<'a>) -> i32 {

-fn func2<'a>(arg : &'a mut Big<'a>)
+fn func2<'a: 'b, 'b>(arg : &'b mut Big<'a>) -> i32 {

(Playground)

Output:

hi

Note that writing : 'b is optional, as it's implied by the function's signature.