Python-like syntax for Rust

im coming from python (like most people here) and im constantly disappointed by how the code looks and how it behaves. i obviously talk about the use of : '{' '}' and ';'
is there a way to change the theme to look like python (without {};)?
I believe that the compiler (with few adjustments) can translate the code the same ether way so i dont see why not.

I am not. I know Python but I program Java for a living, and use many other programing lanuganges.

If you want to program Python, use Python.

5 Likes

I would not be so certain that most people come to Rust from Python. There are a lot of languages out there to come from: C, C++, C#, Java, Javascript, Ruby, and so on and so on.

Using white space indentation for block delimiting is not at all a good idea. Those curly braces are there for a reason. As are other similar block delimeters in almost all languages. As are the semi-colons.

For example did you know that a statement with a semi-colon at the end has a very different meaning than one without in Rust?

I am very happy that Rust does not look like Python.

7 Likes
3 Likes

Ha, love the README in the slag repository:

Should I use this

No. Use the default rust syntax.

3 Likes

IMO, Rust has features that Python couldn't support because of indentation way.
For example, Rust has closures, Python only has one-line lambdas.

2 Likes

This reminds me of how people going from pascal to C back in the day sometimes defined BEGIN and END to { and }, and then started trying to find other creative ways to make the C code look more like pascal using the preprocessor.

They all stopped doing that eventually when they realized there's a good reason for C to look like C, and not pascal.

2 Likes
let a = match b {
      Some(val) => {
           println!("{}", val);
           val
      },
      None => 0
}