Put somthing otherthan {} or "if" after "else"

Hi.
So I just started learning rust and I am curious. Why we can not put any expression/statement after an else statement?

Correct me if I am wrong (which I know I am ! Right now I am trying to understand statements and expressions ) I think it would be better if we were able to put anything we want after an else statement INCLUDING a {} or an if statement
Like this code

if false {

} else match coin {
    Coin::Penny => 1,
    Coin::Nickel => 5,
    Coin::Dime => 10,
    Coin::Quarter => 25,
}
  1.  if false {
         reachable;
     } else
         unreachable;
         reachable;

2. Consistency.

1 Like

RFC 1712 covered else match, closed after a lengthy discussion.

3 Likes

Hi.
Thanks for the link.I just finished reding it!
But that is not exactly what I meant.
I am saying that compiler should be expecting an expression or statement after else. wich could be any thing.
not just things ( if and {}).
Thay said that it was too difficult and not neccesary.I am not a developer of rust compiler but wouldn't it be easier to tell the compiler that it can expect any kind of expression rather than just two specefics?

I think this way codes can be more neat and clean.
But that was just an idea. we cloud even not have the else if and write it inside of the {}

It's an explicit design decision that if should always use braces to clearly mark its block. This avoids ambiguity like dangling else:

// in C:
if (foo)
    if (bar)
        baz();
else abort(); // which `if` does this belong to?

Allowing else if is a concession to a common pattern, which can still be parsed unambiguously. As you saw, the RFC for else match also discussed extending this idea to any block-like keyword.