Publishing an MIT sub-crate that I didn't make

Hi there, I have git cloned opengles_graphics, and it is under MIT license. I have made many modifications to it (basically updated it because it hasn't been updated in 2 years) and am planning to release it as part of a crate I have made, without removing any of the files in it's directory, i.e., it would still contain the original readme and license, so as far as I understand, republishing something under MIT is okay, and I don't have to worry about copyright issues etc., but I'm not very experienced with law (much less copyright laws) and want to be sure I don't get penalized for doing this.
Thanks - @OptimisticPeach

Legally, it's not a problem. However, there are community norms that you should worry about as well.
It looks like you've forked a fork. The original repository is here, and it has been updated recently and frequently.

I'd suggest you do the following, if you haven't done so already:

• See how far your work is from the original repo.
  • Talk to the piston developers to see if they'll accept pull requests from you (open an issue). They have a pretty good contribution guide.
  • Talk to Drakulix to see why he forked and if the reason he forked is no longer applicable or maybe there was another reason he stopped working on it.

If you still think you'd like to publish this work, you'll have to decide on the crate name, unless you can convince someone upstream of you to give you their crate name (which I think is both bad practice and unlikely). Once you have that figured out, there should be no legal hurdles to you publishing this work.