Pub using all in central mod.rs

I am very new to Rust and figuring out structure.
Is it a viable option to just "pub use" all my mods inside one project?
To save me from putting detailed usings in each and every file?
I regard my project as 1 'namespace' where everything is known to everything...

// main.rs
mod consts; 
mod data;
mod directions;
mod timer;
mod misc; 
mod funcs; 
mod bits;
// and so on...

//mod.rs
pub use consts::*;
pub use data::*;
pub use directions::*;
pub use timer::*;
pub use misc::*;
pub use funcs::*;
pub use bits::*;
// and so on

If it compiles... I personally believe you are leaving a lot of the potential of the module system (loose coupling, high cohesion) unused with your approach. But I personally have come to value when everything is not known by everything else, especially when the project gets bigger. I'm also not a fan of asterisk imports as with them it is not immediately visible from your source codeβ€”which is important if you are not running a language server to aid code navigationβ€”where your names are coming from.

5 Likes

Aha, so you prefer using everything explicitely and detailed in every .rs file?
I agree it is more structured that way...

Hi,

I am very new to Rust, too. This is the current project I am developing to learn the actix-web framework.

Just like in Delphi and Python, I am keeping modules (units in Delphi) in their logical directories:

β”œβ”€β”€ .env
β”œβ”€β”€ Cargo.toml
β”œβ”€β”€ cert
β”‚ β”œβ”€β”€ cert-pass.pem
β”‚ β”œβ”€β”€ key-pass-decrypted.pem
β”‚ └── key-pass.pem
β”œβ”€β”€ migrations
β”‚ β”œβ”€β”€ mysql
β”‚ β”‚ └── migrations
β”‚ β”‚     β”œβ”€β”€ 20231128234321_emp_email_pwd.down.sql
β”‚ β”‚     └── 20231128234321_emp_email_pwd.up.sql
β”‚ └── postgres
β”‚     └── migrations
β”‚         β”œβ”€β”€ 20231130023147_emp_email_pwd.down.sql
β”‚         └── 20231130023147_emp_email_pwd.up.sql
β”œβ”€β”€ README.md
β”œβ”€β”€ src
β”‚ β”œβ”€β”€ auth_handlers.rs
β”‚ β”œβ”€β”€ auth_middleware.rs