Provide default fn in a subtrait for the parent trait

Hi all -- I'm very new to Rust and still trying to wrap my brain around The Rust Way, so if there's a better approach, please let me know.

I have a set of objects that can be written to anything with the Write trait, so I've defined a Writeable trait that requires them to expose a write_bytes() function.

trait Writeable {
    fn write_bytes<T: Write>(&self, out: &mut T) -> Result<usize>;
}

For some of these objects--the simpler ones--it's possible to provide a default implementation of write_bytes(), so I've created a subtrait for those simple objects:

trait BatchOneByteOption: Writeable {
    const ID: BatchOptionId;
    fn id() -> BatchOptionId {
        Self::ID
    }
    fn val(&self) -> u8;
    fn write_bytes<T: Write>(&self, out: &mut T) -> Result<usize> {
        out.write(&[Self::id() as u8, self.val()])
    }
}

but the default implementation in BatchOneByteOption doesn't seem to satisfy the requirement Writeable imposes. This:

struct BatchEndOption {}
impl BatchOneByteOption for BatchEndOption {
    const ID: BatchOptionId = BatchOptionId::BatchEnd;
}

yields this error:

the trait bound `BatchEndOption: Writeable` is not satisfied
the trait `Writeable` is not implemented for `BatchEndOption`rustc(E0277)

What am I doing wrong, or is there a better way?

First, subtraits don't specialize their supertrait's methods; that is, if I have

trait Super { fn foo(&self); }
trait Sub: Super { fn foo(&self); }

The two methods are distinct. You would have to implement both in order to implement Sub, not just one. And you don't want this arrangement anyway, because if you do and try to call foo as a method...

unit.foo();

You'll get an error[E0034]: multiple applicable items in scope as it is ambiguous which method should be called. Playground. (You can disambiguate like the error says, but it's unlikely you really want this.)

Specialization is planned, but it is not yet stable.