Proper way to use iterators as function arguments

Hello all, I'm just starting to learn rust and I'm using it on a project to build a parser for a super basic assembly language. I stated following along with this tutorial Writing a Simple Parser in Rust but I think its a bit out of date. In that tutorial the author uses iterators for the lexer but not for the parser. In my code I've added iterators for parsing stage as well.

As part of introducing iterators, the rust compiler informed me that I needed to introduce a lifetime to iterator type. Now I don't know anything about lifetimes and I blindly followed the compiler, but I want to understand if what I'm doing is right, what are the implications of introducing a lifetime, is there a way to write this without introducing and explicit lifetime?

I've linked the relevant section of my code below from github.

1 Like

It looks fine to me.

You may not have to name the lifetime in the future. But it will still be there -- just like the &mut has a lifetime, even though you didn't give it an explicit name.

Named lifetimes or not, when you have an iterator over borrowed data, the implications are that you can only hold on to the iterator items so long as the lifetime is valid. Within a function body with a lifetime parameter (like parse_reg), it's a given that the lifetime is valid for at least as long as just after the function call. Since you're not trying to send the items elsewhere, and not returning anything that stores any iterator items, there's not much to worry about in this code.

If you start returning borrowed values instead of owned things like u8s, you might have to start paying attention to how the borrowing flows.

2 Likes

Thanks for the response that makes sense! I guess the cases where I would have to be more careful is if I the lifetime extended beyond the scope of the function, correct? Like if I was storing the data in some structure or returning it from the function?