Problem with OpenOptions and write_all()

Hi, I'm new to Rust :slightly_smiling_face:

I am writing a program that can log time & date into an existing log file, without replacing the old records inside but appending new records each time the program runs.

When I searched and discovered the OpenOptions can do the exact things I wanted, and took reference from few sources, so I came out like this:

use chrono::*;
use std::fs::OpenOptions;

fn log_time() -> String {
    let local: DateTime<Local> = Local::now();
    let date = local.format("%a, %d %b %Y %I:%M:%S %p\n").to_string();
    date
}

fn log_time_into_file(filename: String) -> std::io::Result<()> {
    let mut f = OpenOptions::new().append(true).create(true).open(filename);
    f.write_all(log_time().as_bytes());
    Ok(())
}

Upon compiling it threw error message:

error[E0599]: no method named `write_all` found for enum `std::result::Result<std::fs::File, std::io::Error>` in the current scope

Searched for the problem & solution before posting here but no avail. Looked for those tutorial references they can simply get compiled.

I may need help on this, I would like to know did I miss out something or what-else. Thanks!

Please read the pinned code formatting post and post code as formatted text, and not as an image.
EDIT: Thanks :slight_smile:

As for your question, I think you just need to make this change:

// Note the `?` near the end
let mut f = OpenOptions::new().append(true).create(true).open(filename)?;

.open(filename) returns a Result which you have to handle somehow, in case of errors. The ? will return the error if the result is an error, and otherwise the opened file will be assigned to f.

More on the ? operator.

2 Likes

Hi, I have already put the ? near the end of the line:

let mut f = OpenOptions::new().append(true).create(true).open(filename)?;

But I put one more in the next line as well:

f.write_all(log_time().as_bytes())?;