Problem with criterion benchmarks

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to rust and my experience with benchmarking is 0.

I'm working at a library, that let the user define assets, like usd, bitcoin ecc ecc and do basic math operation between assets of the same type in a safe fashion, the library is inspired by this article.

I wanted to use the fixed crate but I need to express the fractional bit count via a const (is more user friendly), and fixed do not support that yet, so I implemented a dummy fixed logic internally.

I was ready to release a first experimental 0.0.1 version, when I added some benchmark that completely demoralized me. I was expecting adding Assets to have performance pretty close to checked_add.

What I get is:
Checked add i64 -> ~1.3000 ns
Add [u8; 8] using the below function (the same used in the library) -> ~2.5000 ns and that is ok
Add Fixed<[u8; 8]> (is just a wrapper) -> ~18 ns :astonished:

The function used to add the arrays is the below:

pub fn add_checked_buf<'a>(le: [u8; 8], ri: [u8; 8]) -> Option<[u8; 8]> {
    let z: i64;
    unsafe {
        let le: [u8; 8] = std::mem::transmute_copy(&le);
        z = <i64>::from_le_bytes(le);
    }
    let y: i64;
    unsafe {
        let ri: [u8; 8] = std::mem::transmute_copy(&ri);
        y = <i64>::from_le_bytes(ri);
    }
    let sum = z.checked_add(y)?.to_le_bytes();
    let sum_: [u8; 8];
    unsafe { sum_ = std::mem::transmute_copy(&sum) }
    Some(sum_)
}

Here the benchmarks
Here the function that add the arrays
Here where the very slow Fixed is defined
Fixed implement HasFixedOps that call the above function.

Here I'm stuck as I said before my experience with benchmarking is zero. Anyone can help me figuring out what could be the next step in order to increase the performances of adding Fixed?

The library need to be compiled with a version of rustc >= 2020-03-23

Ty :slight_smile: