Problem installing clap

Hi,
I'm totally new to rust but have a piece of code that I need to get working. It uses clap to parse the command line.

I have tries to install clap and these are the results:
1 - cargo install cargo-edit
Installed package cargo-edit v0.7.0 (executables cargo-add, cargo-rm, cargo-upgrade)

2 - cargo add clap
Command failed due to unhandled error: Unable to find Cargo.toml

3 - my .cargo directory looks like:
.crates.toml
.crates2.json
.package-cache
bin
env
registry

I have search the web extensively and have not found a single mention of this issue and, being a novice, I have no idea what to do to fix it.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

You need a cargo workspace to use cargo commands such as cargo-add.

Try

cargo new foo
cd foo
cargo add clap

In which cargo new foo create a new cargo workspace with Cargo.toml file in foo directory.
You could see more frequently used cargo commands here: Rust Language Cheat Sheet

1 Like

Note the differences in the behaviour of cargo add and cargo install:

cargo add - is a third party extension to Rust's package manager Cargo. It is a convenience method in that you do not have to manually edit your Cargo.toml file for dependencies. It is similar to yarn add wherein the command does two things: a) it installs the dependency and updates the dependencies file (Cargo.toml in the case of Rust and package.json for JS).

cargo install is more of binary installation tool which builds and installs a binary application in an appropriate directory. You can read the rules for which directory here.

Therefore, as @tesuji suggests, you need to ensure there is a Rust project in the CWD with an appropriate Cargo.toml configured to use cargo add command.

Thanks for that info.

I'm thinking that I should have been in the project directory, rather than in my .cargo directory, when I ran the add command?
if so, maybe something useful has been omitted from the installation guide.