Powershell and "$ rustc" command :(

Hey guys!

I'm pretty new to launching a compiler through a commandprompt. I use PowerShell for that now. And actually managed to install Rust and check its version via "rustc --version".

But now I made a directory for the project and created a file called "main.rs" and added the main method in it like the tutorial told me.

PS C:\Users\Falke\Desktop\rustproject\hello_world> $ rustc main.rs
$ : Die Benennung "$" wurde nicht als Name eines Cmdlet, einer Funktion, einer Skriptdatei oder eines ausführbaren
> Programms erkannt. Überprüfen Sie die Schreibweise des Namens, oder ob der Pfad korrekt ist (sofern enthalten), und
> wiederholen Sie den Vorgang.
> In Zeile:1 Zeichen:1
> + $ rustc main.rs
> + ~
> + CategoryInfo : ObjectNotFound: ($:String) [], CommandNotFoundException
> + FullyQualifiedErrorId : CommandNotFoundException

Thats what PowerShell pops on my head. I think it is a simple thing but sorry guys don't know the keywords to search for in google so I just can't get up with a solution. I'm sure I have to anyhow add "rustc" to a commen command for PowerShell so I can use it just like that. But I can't find a way or google answer that brings me to that.

Would be awesome if you guys can help me out!

greets Charlie!

Is the $ a part of the prompt or did you write it yourself? I get the feeling that that's what PowerShell complains about, but I may misunderstand it because of the language.

Hey there!

Thanks for your reply but in fact this message here appears without the $ so that might not be the issue:

PS C:\Users\Falke\Desktop\rustproject\hello_world> rustc main.rs
rustc : Die Benennung "rustc" wurde nicht als Name eines Cmdlet, einer
> Funktion, einer Skriptdatei oder eines ausführbaren Programms erkannt.
> Überprüfen Sie die Schreibweise des Namens, oder ob der Pfad korrekt ist
> (sofern enthalten), und wiederholen Sie den Vorgang.
> In Zeile:1 Zeichen:1
> + rustc main.rs
> + ~~~~~