Port C project to Rust 🚗

Hello everyone,

I am still learning Rust intensively so my questions might be irrelevant. I am also very inexperienced with embedded even though it's probably the funniest thing I have done :heart_eyes:.

One of the things I would love to do is to port a project (the classical obstacle avoiding robot) I wrote for PIC32 in C to Rust.
I redid (of course!) this project with Arduino together with kids in my neighborhood - simpler version, without interrupts though.
That is to say I am open to try on any micro-controller, preferably GPIO to start smoothly.

I found discussions about embedded-hal as well as the awesome resource.

Questions:

1. Dear Resources Team, when we are talking about Arduino board support crates, are we also talking about Chinese clones as well?

2. What would be the friendliest micro-controller that I could use (easiest board, most documented crate)?

If you have the patience, please explain like you would to an 11 years old. Firstly I am not experienced enough, secondly, I might do the project with the kiddies in my neighborhood (we have a programming hang-out), so several people might benefit from your efforts :smile: :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:.

Thank you!

4 Likes

Hi and welcome to embedded Rust!

They should generally work with compatible clones. The quality of those can be a bit questionable from time to time though, so I tend to recommend using official hardware.

I can recommend the STM32F3 series, which is used on the F3 discovery board, used in the Discovery book, an excellent introduction into embedded Rust.

A lot of people get started with the "Blue Pill", which uses an STM32F103. You can get these boards for very cheap, though the quality varies.

The nRF52 series is also pretty good, it has its own set of HAL crates here that are also fairly nice to use. You can get the nRF52840-DK board to get started. The cool thing about these is that they have a 2.4 GHz radio that can speak various protocols.