Populate a vector of hashsets

Hi Rustaceans, good day! I am a newbie here. Got a question about populating a vector of hashsets where the values to populate in a particular hashset in the vector depends on the values of the hashset in a previous element. If I fail to sound articulate enough, consider the following code:

use std::collections::HashSet;

fn main() {

// create a vector of HashSets
    let mut v: Vec<HashSet<isize>> = Vec::new();
    for _ in 0..10 {
        v.push(HashSet::new());
    }

// populate the HashSet in element 0.  (0..5 is arbitrary)
    for i in 0..5 {
        v[0].insert(i);
    }

// traverse the list and populate the hash sets in element 1 to 9
    // the values to insert are 2 times each of the values in the previous element
    // 2 times is arbitrary here, just to show dependencies between elements
    for i in 1..10 {
        let states = &v[i-1];
        for k in states.iter() {
            v[i].insert( k*2 ); // cannot borrow `v` as mutable because it is also borrowed as immutable
        }
    }
}

Think of the vector v as a sequence of nodes and in each of the nodes, there is a set of possible (integer) states that are stored in the HashSet. The initial set of states (i.e. for element 0) is known. Now I need to begin from element 0 and populate the states of all the subsequent elements, according to some algorithm which requires looking at what the states are in the previous element.

The above doesn't work because an immutable reference is borrowed by the variable "states" once and can't be borrowed again mutably in v[i].insert(...). Changing "states" to a mutable reference won't work either obviously because there can only be one mutable reference.

The only way I figured so far, is to clone the HashSet instead of holding on to (or borrowing) a reference to it. like so:

let states = v[i-1].clone();