Plugin architecture with Rust

I am working on a project that should be extensible with plugins. I am not fully sure what would be a good solution to write a plugin extensible project with Rust. I was wondering if some people have experience or ideas about this subject. I have never done something like this before, so any help is appreciated.

Some details:

• The main program is an executable (Compiled from Rust code), and it exposes a pretty small set of API messages.
  • Users should be able to create plugins in any language they like (Not only Rust), so a plugin should be some executable file on the filesystem.
  • The plugins system should be cross platform. To be more specific, I want it to work on Linux, Android and Windows.
  • The communication between the plugin and the main program has to be secure. (Can not be read or intercepted).

In the first development iteration I wrote sockets interface. This approach is very generic, but the main problem I have with it is that it feels like a system with too many moving parts:

To add a new plugin, the user needs to register a new public key in the main program's configuration file, then add a private key for the plugin and put it somewhere safe. Finally the user runs the main program, and then runs the plugin. The plugin then connects to the program and authenticates itself using his private key. I I can't expect a non technical user to go through this process.

My current idea is as follows: The program will contain a configuration file with a list of paths to plugins:

• Plugin1: /path/to/plugin1 + flags?
  • Plugin2: /path/to/plugin2 + flags?

When run, the main program will first initialize itself, and then spawn the plugins as processes. To make the communication secure I thought about some ideas: