Pcap print stats on ctrl-c

Hello,

I'm new to rust and looking for a way to print the stats from pcap::Capture when user presses ctrl-c. I found the ctrlc crate and have that working with printing a string. Stuck with how to pass the stats to the ctrlc::set_handler collection from:

ctrls::set_handler( move || {
   println!("ctrl-C pressed");
   exit(1);
}).expect("Error setting handler");
while let Ok(packet) = capture.next() {
}

Any suggestion or reference would be appreciated.

I would share the stats between both the ctrl-c handler and the main thread. Probably by creating a Arc<Mutex<Stats>> and giving one reference to the handler while the capture loop has the other reference.

let stats = Arc::new(Mutex::new(Stats::default()));

let stats_2 = Arc::clone(&stats);
ctrls::set_handler( move || {
   println!("ctrl-C pressed");
   println!("{:?}", stats_2.lock().unwrap());
   exit(1);
}).expect("Error setting handler");

while let Ok(packet) = capture.next() {
  *stats.lock().unwrap() = packet;
}

Okay I'm getting closer.

let stats = Arc::new(Mutex::new(Stats::default()));

give me a compiler error use of undeclared type Stats.

I've tried to figure out the correct namespace with no luck yet.

pcap::Capture::stats 

is a fn that returns a Result<Stat, Error>

so I'm not sure how to declare stats

Locking a mutex inside a signal handler may deadlock. The things you are allowed to do inside a signal handler are very limited as many things acquire a lock, even memory allocation is not allowed. Instead you will have to signal the main thread that it needs to stop some way or another.

Edit: looks like the ctrlc crate doesn't run your code inside a signal handler, but on a dedicated thread. Please ignore this post.

I was just using the generic Stats name as a placeholder because the original post didn't mention what type captures.next() returns. You'll need to change it to suit your application and the data you want to share with the ctrl-c handler.