Passing mutable borrow to immutably borrowed closure

Hi, I'm a complete beginner at Rust, coming from a Java / Go background. The code below helps memoize a recursive function func, and compiles / runs fine.

pub struct FnCache<'a, I, O> {
    cache: HashMap<I, O>,
    func: &'a dyn Fn(&I, &mut Self) -> O,
}

impl<'a, I: Eq + Hash, O: Clone> FnCache<'a, I, O> {
    pub fn get(&mut self, input: I) -> O {
        match self.cache.get(&input) {
            Some(val) => val.clone(),
            None => {
                let result = (self.func)(&input, self);
                self.cache.entry(input).or_insert(result).clone()
            }
        }
    }
}

I want to refactor it as below, so that I can return the built cache from another function. The above code won't work as it requires a reference to the closure created in the function, which goes away after the function goes out of scope. Makes sense to me.

pub struct FnCache<I, O> {
    func: Box<dyn Fn(&I, &mut Self) -> O>,
}

impl<I: Eq + Hash, O: Clone> FnCache<I, O> {
            None => {
                let result = (self.func)(&input, self); // cannot borrow `*self` as mutable because it is also borrowed as immutable
            }
        }
    }
}

Compile fails with error

|                              -----------^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
   |                              |
   |                              mutable borrow occurs here
   |                              immutable borrow occurs here
   |                              immutable borrow later used by call

Logically speaking, the check can be ignored, since self.func cannot be modified. But I guess the compiler has no way of knowing that.

My question is, why does the first example compile, when I'm also immutably borrowing self.func and passing it a mutable reference to self? Any fix will also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help!