Passing channels to threads

Hello, I am a RUST novice who is writing his second RUST program. My first program successfully scanned an 8 channel ADC card at 4000 samples/second in a Raspberry PI and created 24 threads (3 per ADC channel to process (zero crossing, RMS, FFT,...) the streaming sensor data in real time. It worked, amazing! RUST is a very powerful (but frustrating) language.

So my second program was to improve on the clumsy verbose coding of my first program. Since my thread code is similar between channels I have figured out how to clone the code and pass an index to the thread so that it knows what specific actions to perform. My other idea was to create a Vec (below) of the various channels for each thread and pass the specific channel TUPLE to the thread. I have figured out how to do this in the main using the loop index i and the tuple access syntax: txrx[i].0.send(milliseconds).unwrap(); However I can't figure out how to index/pass the specific channel TUPLE to the thread. I have tried dozens of combinations including direct indexing, passing the address of the tuple, copying the TUPLE, extracting the individual send/recv values, nothing works.

I could really use a suggestion! Thanks...

mgehrs

let mut txrx = Vec::new();
//** Create Vec of channels
for _i in 0..NO_CHANNELS{ txrx.push(channel()); }

// ** Main loop
loop {
for i in 0..NO_CHANNELS{
milliseconds = getmillis();
txrx[i].0.send(milliseconds).unwrap();
}
thread::sleep(ten_millis);
} //loop
}

Please read Forum Code Formatting and Syntax Highlighting and edit your prior post by using the edit button under that post.

Many readers of this forum will ignore code snippets that do not follow the posting guidelines for new contributors that are pinned to the top of this forum. Even those who do respond may feel that the lack of following the forum posting guidelines is disrespectful of their time. Thanks. :clap:

2 Likes

Tom,