Partial Structs

Hello Community!

I'm new to Rust and need some help :slight_smile:
Is there a way to cast a struct in a way that makes all fields to Options without defining an additional struct, like Typescript's Partial Generic?

What I currently do is:

#[skip_serializing_none]
#[derive(Serialize, Deserialize)]
pub struct Schema {
    pub _id: ObjectId,
    pub email: String,
    pub password: String,
    pub first_name: String,
    pub last_name: String,
    pub access_level: AccessLevel,
    pub create_ms: i64,
    pub create_admin_id: Option<ObjectId>,
    pub last_modified_ms: Option<i64>,
    pub last_modified_admin_id: Option<ObjectId>
}

#[skip_serializing_none]
#[derive(Serialize, Deserialize)]
pub struct Partial {
    pub _id: Option<ObjectId>,
    pub email: Option<String>,
    pub password: Option<String>,
    pub first_name: Option<String>,
    pub last_name: Option<String>,
    pub access_level: Option<AccessLevel>,
    pub create_ms: Option<i64>,
    pub create_admin_id: Option<ObjectId>,
    pub last_modified_ms: Option<i64>,
    pub last_modified_admin_id: Option<ObjectId>
}

There is no built-in feature for this, but you can do it easily with a macro. Anyway, what do you need this for?

When I query mongodb and just want certain fields to be returned on an endpoint, it will panic when I don't provide the full set of data:

let find_options = FindOneOptions::builder()
    .projection(doc!{ "first_name": true, "last_name": true, "email": true, "access_level": true, "create_ms": true })
    .build();
let user: Option<user::Schema> = db.collection::<user::Schema>(user::COLLECTION).find_one(doc! { "_id": user_id? }, find_options).await?;
// panic because I dont query "_id" and "password"

So my solution currently is to query for a "Partial":

let find_options = FindOneOptions::builder()
    .projection(doc!{ "first_name": true, "last_name": true, "email": true, "access_level": true, "create_ms": true })
    .build();