Parsing JSON from POST request

First confessions...I am an absolute Rust beginner, and only a marginal C++ developer. Most of my career has been around JVM-centric languages.

I set myself an intial learning task to hit an access control endpoint, log in, and get an oauth token back.

I can't shake the feeling that my implementation is awkward and too complicated, particularly the multiple uses of "unwrap()". Any advice greatly appreciated.

extern crate reqwest;
extern crate serde;
extern crate serde_derive;
extern crate serde_json;

use std::collections::HashMap;
use serde::{Deserialize};
use reqwest::blocking::Client;

#[derive(Deserialize)]
struct Tokens {
    access_token: String,
    refresh_token: String,
}

fn main() {
    let mut map = HashMap::new();

map.insert("grant_type", "password");
    map.insert("client_id", "id");
    map.insert("client_secret", "secret");
    map.insert("username", "username");
    map.insert("password", "password");

let client = Client::new();

let res = client.post("https://some-url/apis/private/tokens")
        .json(&map)
        .send();

let response = res.unwrap().json::<Tokens>().unwrap();

println!("{:?}", response.access_token);
}

I'm assuming there is a more elegant way to handle the response as json straight into the struct?

The usual alternative to unwrap is to use the ? operator for error handling:

use std::error::Error;

fn main() -> Result<(), Box<dyn Error>> {
    // ...
    let response = client.post("https://some-url/apis/private/tokens")
        .json(&map)
        .send()?
        .json::<Tokens>()?;
    // ...
}
2 Likes

Ah, it really was as simple as that. Can '?' also be used to unwrap a "Some()", or does that always need an explicit call to "unwrap ()"?

You can use ? to unwrap an option, however you need to be in a function that returns option to do that. You can also use ok_or or ok_or_else to convert your option into a result and use ? on that result.

1 Like