Panic on slice, no way to handle

Hello,
I’m new to Rust, is it true that seemingly innocuous code such:

let slice = &"Golden Eagle"[..13];

will panic causing the app to exit and there is nothing I can do to handle it. I would like to recover from it similar to handling an exception in other languages?

1 Like

Indexing operator is used when you're absolutely sure it's valid index. If you're not sure, use .get(..13) which takes same argument but returns Option instead of panicking on absence.

6 Likes

As a sidenote, I'd like to mention that Rust doesn't have a notion of exceptions - everything that is returned is a "value". There are some well-known types, such as Option or Result, which are enums that provide two variants - one for a successful value, other for a failure. Option provides no error message, just the fact that it failed, while Result provides an explicit value for the error as well (which can contain the message and other nice metadata). You need to manually match to find out what happened. With Result, you have the convenient ? operator, which lets you "pass-up" the call stack the error, if there is one while retrieveing the actual value if there is no error.
Both these enums have a bunch of useful methods defined on them. I'd encourage you to look into their docs pages to learn more about the methods - they shorten code quite a bit.

2 Likes

Is there an Option returning method to avoid divide by zero?

Yes, there is a checked_div method for each primitive integer type. Check the docs for i32 as an example.

3 Likes

How about to avoid a stack overflow panic?

You might be interested in this post:

Rust is very specific about what it considers safe vs unsafe, and there are lots of ways that a Rust program can do something you didn't want it to.

1 Like

I don't think so there is a way to even do that in theory, since the stack size limits is set by the OS dynamically, and so there is no way the program can detect it.