Own Arc implementation outside of standard library?

Hello,
I'm still pretty new to Rust. Coming from C++ I assumed a good beginner problem to learn would be to write my own shared pointer implementation. Also I wanted to build something more similar to C++'s boost::intrusive_ptr.

I started off with the example given in the nomicon but ran into problems as soon as I wanted to use trait objects. The following line does not work with the implementation given there.

let x: Arc<dyn MyTrait> = Arc::new(MyStruct { x: 0 });

A little bit of searching brought me to the standard library implementation and I guess my problem has to do with core::ops::CoerceUnsized that I can't use outside of the standard library. Somehow related I found https://github.com/rust-lang/rust/issues/27732.

So my practical questions:

• Am I right with my assessment?
  • Is there any possibility to write a fully qualified Rc / Arc Implementation in my own code?

Thanks.

1 Like

It's possible in nightly, but not on stable. The std lib uses lots of nightly features internally. In many cases it's for performance, but also to provide things like unsized coercions. So providng a fully featured implementation may require nightly. (As it does in this case)

5 Likes

Thank you.

So I can experiment on nightly which is sufficient for what I want to do right now.
(But as soon as I want to use it in any public "production crate" I'd have to reevaluate the situation and look for other solutions...?)

Yes, at least for the time being you will need to find other ways or ask your users to use nightly.

So, I have copy-pasted (and tweaked) the implementation there reaching

1. Initial state;

2. Then, I have loosened the <T> generics present in that code to <T : ?Sized>: Playground;

3. Finally, unless you have nightly, you will need to use helper crates that use a bit of unsafe to feature the coercions in stable Rust. So here is one which is being released as we speak: