Overly verbose abstractions in Embedded Rust

Hi,

first of all, a disclaimer: I'm new to Rust, I haven't actually used Rust for embedded development yet, but I'm learning Rust already.

I have seen some very verbose abstractions used in embedded Rust-related blog posts, tutorials, etc. They are so verbose that it is actually quite difficult to understand what the code is doing at a glance, at least for me, coming from a C background.

For example, I saw this code in this blog post shared in this edition of TWIR (I am in no way or form attacking the author of this post, it's just the most recent place where I saw this kind of code).

/* Disables all wdt stages & the global watchdog flag itself */
rtccntl.wdtconfig0.modify(|_, w| unsafe {
    w
    .wdt_stg0()
    .bits(0x0)
    .wdt_stg1()
    .bits(0x0)
    .wdt_stg2()
    .bits(0x0)
    .wdt_stg3()
    .bits(0x0)
    .wdt_flashboot_mod_en()
    .clear_bit()
    .wdt_en()
    .clear_bit()
});

Why isn't this just rtccntl.wdtconfig0 = 0x00 (or whatever the code is doing with the bits - I didn't really took the time to understand what's going on).

Is this verbose-kind of abstraction the best we can do in Embedded Rust?

Excuse my rant, but it's a bit worrying that single-line-of-code bit-masking operations are exploding to 14 lines of code.

1 Like

As an old embedded C hand I feel you pain.

Whilst that is a massively verbose way to set some bits I would argue that with rtccntl.wdtconfig0 = 0x00 it is also quite difficult to understand what is going on. If one doesn't know the bit layout of that register you have no clue what writing 0x00 does.

At least the verbosity of Rust, which shocks us C programmers at first, is no worse than the comments one would have to have in the C code to make it clear. Whist at the same time ensuring that what it is saying is what it is doing. Unlike many comments I have seen over the years which get out of sync with code changes, if they were ever correct in the first place.