Option holding Mutex containing RefCell... or Mutex holding Option... or something else?

Coming from C++, I am new to rust, and struggle with finding solutions for very basic things.
In an embedded project using embassy, I would like to store the Peripherals struct in a static variable that can be used for initialization of the corresponding periphery within several async tasks.

What I am trying so far is:

pub static mut PERIPHERALS: Option<Mutex<ThreadModeRawMutex, RefCell<embassy_stm32::Peripherals>>> = None;

The idea is that I need to protect access to the struct with a Mutex, and since the variable is only initialized later in main I think I need to wrap it in an Option. Or would it be better to have a Mutex wrapping an Option? (I initially tried this but ended up in [for me] syntax hell) I am asking this because later I get

// ... now within 'main' ...
    let mut config = Config::default();
    // ... some clock settings within config done here...
    PERIPHERALS = Some(Mutex::new(RefCell::new(embassy_stm32::init(config))));

Here the compiler is unhappy because this is unsafe. I guess the reason is that I place a new Mutex there while there might already be one there (?).

Later in my async tasks I have stuff like this:

pub async fn some_task() {

let &mut p = PERIPHERALS.unwrap().lock().await;
    // do something with p here...

And here again I get a message that this is unsafe...

I now wonder whether I actually am on a totally wrong track and what the best way is to achieve this.

Mutable static variables are inherently unsafe, because there is no protection against multiple threads accessing the variable simultaneously.

You probably want something like:

pub static PERIPHERALS: Mutex<Option<etc etc>> = Mutex::new(None);