Opinion: First impressions of Rust coming from Java

Hey there!

I'm mainly a Java developer. I've just published a new article in Medium talking about how I was opening my mind lately to non-JVM stuff and how Rust came at that moment to my life.

That's my own personal experience, but I thought that this could be maybe a good starting point for a discussion about which were the things that attracted you most in your first developments with Rust, specially in opposition with your previous experiences with Java.

In my case, it's clear:

Performance and optimization: Specially the minimal size of the build, the ridiculous amount of memory used and also how fast everything works.

9 Likes

How big were your release bundles, usually?

Well, when you start to include libraries in your build, you reach easily a final .jar (already compressed) with a size of dozens of MB. I'm used to see fatJars of 30-50 MB, even more if you use SpringBoot or other kind of frameworks.

I was amazed when I made a --release build with cargo with 125 lib dependencies in total and the size of the executable was < 6MB

1 Like

Provide the following in your Cargo.toml to get them even smaller:

[profile.release]
lto = true
7 Likes

Wow! That made it only 3,6MB ! Almost half size!

What that flag does exactly ?

It enables optimizations at link time, after each dependency has been compiled independently.

2 Likes

Sounds like a lot of dead code removal and function inlining at link time

Great stuff, gets my current project down from 8.6MB to 6.5MB. 25% smaller.

You can also set codegen-units = 1 (default is 16) for full optimisation but the gains might not be worth it. You can also specify opt-level = 'z' if you prefer size optimisations.

[profile.release]
lto = true
codegen-units = 1
opt-level = 'z'
3 Likes