On-Disk B+ Tree

I'm very new to Rust (written Hello World, that's about it), but am an experienced programmer in C/C++, Java, and Python. I'm looking to create an on-disk B+ tree library. I'm struggling with the layout of the Node struct that will represent a Node on disk. I will really have 2 types of nodes: InternalNode and LeafNode. However, I think I can overload them by simply having the following:

enum Payload<V> {
        Value(V),
        Children([u64; 32]),
    }

struct Node<K: Ord, V> {
    key: K,
    parent: u64,
    payload: Payload<V>,
}

First, is overloading a field like this a good/smart idea? I'm going to need a way to tell the type of a node after I've read it off... thoughts on that?

Overall, does it seem like I'm heading in the right direction here? Critiques? Pointers? Thanks!

2 Likes

I'm a beginner, too, but if you are interested in handling data types with rust, maybe you are interested on this tutorial:

http://cglab.ca/~abeinges/blah/too-many-lists/book/

I think it is important to store the keys of the children in the parent node, otherwise you would have to read all child nodes to find out where to go next during search.

Nesting an enum inside a struct is perfectly OK though.

@matklad good point! So I'd need to make my Children type something like: [(K, u64); 32].

As a slight aside, I had tried to make the number of children a constant: const NUM_CHILDREN: u32 = 32; but then I couldn't use the NUM_CHILDREN value in the array definition. Thoughts on why that's not possible?

It is possible, though you'll need to use usize type:

const N: usize = 32;

fn main() {
    let _ = [0; N];
}

Right. With Rust it's important to actually read what the error message is exactly saying :slight_smile:

1 Like

@matklad aah, OK. @leonardo the error is a bit mis-leading:

There was an error while evaluating the expression for the length of a fixed-
size array type.

Some examples of this error are:

// divide by zero in the length expression