Old Programmer that's New to Rust

Hello!

I'm a long time Microsoft Developer going back to 1994 professionally and 1984 overall. I'm ready to branch out and try Rust for a major idea I have. I've never coded a line of Rust in my life, but I understand architecture and the SDLC very well.

My project will be a site to allow teachers to organize their communications with their students and parents that provides an email portal and instant messaging portal that can be combined with online learning platforms via their public APIs. The goal is to get information to students and parents in an accountable way to relieve regulatory burden on teachers and schools. My wife is a teach and I've seen first hand the chaos that remote learning has become and everyone needs a safe and reliable platform for quickly, safely and accurately disseminating important and potentially sensitive information.

I decided to do this in Rust specifically because of the privacy issues and the need for robustness and security. I could do this in C# 9 as well, but I want to use more vender-agnostic tooling to show that there are no big IT influences making decisions about implementation details that may conflict with the goals of privacy and security.

Having said all of that, I have been researching the Rust ecosystem and have decided on using Axios Actix for the back end and Yew for the front end. I would enjoy and encourage feedback on these two decisions and of course any advice for managing large Rust projects. Hosting and Source Control decisions have not been made, I would very much like to find a cloud provider other than AWS, Google and Azure to maintain independence.

Thanks, and I look forward to your feedback.

Update. Typo with framework name, Actix, not Axios was what I meant to say.

3 Likes

It sounds like you are using Javascript for the backend and Rust for the frontend? Normally people do it the other way around.