Noob question about Rust - Can/should I learn it?

Hi,
This is my first question here. I am a Tech Consultant who has done some scripting in Perl/Python. I know a bit of C, but nothing major. In the past I have written scripts that would SSH into devices, run diagnostic commands, filter only required output and email it to a distribution list. I've been reading about rust from a while and it seems to be a language generally preferred by folks who write systems software (which I dont think I will ever write).
I've also tried learning golang, but found it somewhat difficult to learn. My guess is Rust will be even more difficult to learn, so should I just focus first on getting even better with Python and then may be learn Rust? From what I see, Rust is preferred by seasoned/expert programmers/software engineers.

I am primarily looking for a language where I can write programs for REST APIs and may be create REST APIs. I am not sure if Rust is a good option for doing SSH (python has paramiko and I think it's better suited for ssh stuff).
Please let me know.

1 Like

Welcome!

Python/Perl are dynamically typed. C has structs but not any advanced type system.

What is the longest Python/Perl program you have written? In my experience, once I hit around 5k Lines of Code, dynamically typed languages become very difficult to use because I can't look at a variable and know what fields/methods it has. This then results in a very very strong incentive to learn a language with an advanced type system (like Rust).

As for learning Rust itself, I found it really useful to just type manually type in the examples at Introduction - Rust By Example , hit compile, and fix all the typos. This has the advantage that you can do it almost "mechanically" without much thinking -- type, compile, fix typos -- and after a while, you learn the basics.

6 Likes

Hi,
Thanks for taking time to reply.
My scripts have been extremely small. May be max 150 lines ...