Newbie: Understanding traits and associated types

Hello, I'm very new to Rust and have just been playing around with different things.

Most of the problems I've encountered were solved by searching, but I've spent a lot of time on this one with no luck so far. I admit that it could very well be due to sorely lacking understanding about fundamentals, which is something I'm hoping to amend with this post.

I've created a playground with a reproduction of the issue. The Handler trait actually is from the lambda_runtime Handler trait, not something I've created myself.

In trying to implement the Handler trait, I'm blocked by the associated type Fut. From what I understand so far, Future is a trait not a type, so it can't be used to specify the associated type in the implementation.

So, my question is, how should Handler be implemented? And why is what I've been trying not working?

I would really appreciate your help!

use async_trait::async_trait;
use anyhow::Error;
use core::future::Future;

trait Handler<A, B> {
    type Error;
    type Fut: Future<Output = Result<B, Self::Error>>;
    fn call(&self, request: A) -> Self::Fut;
}

struct WorkerRequest {
    id: String,
}

struct WorkerResult {
}

#[async_trait]
trait Worker {
    async fn do_work(&self, request: WorkerRequest) -> Result<WorkerResult, Error>;
}

struct MyHandler<T: Worker> {
    worker: T,
}

impl<T: Worker> MyHandler<T> {
    fn new(worker: T) -> Self {
        MyHandler {
            worker: worker,
        }
    }

async fn work(&self, request: WorkerRequest) -> Result<WorkerResult, Error> {
        let result = self.worker.do_work(request).await?;
        Ok(result)
    }
}

impl<T, F> Handler<WorkerRequest, WorkerResult> for MyHandler<T>
where
    T: Worker,
    F: Future<Output = Result<WorkerResult, Error>>
{
    type Error = Error;
    type Fut = F;

fn call(&self, request: WorkerRequest) -> Self::Fut {
        self.work(request)
    }
}

fn main() {
    println!("This is a no-op!");
}