Newbie question: why doesn't Rust have 3 kinds of references?

Note: I am just learning Rust now, so I don't have much experience with it.

TL;DR: with my little understanding, I think a more relaxed, non-exclusive, reference type could be added to Rust, in a mostly-backwards compatible way, so that more safe use-cases are accepted by the borrow checker. In this long post I try to explain how I came up with this idea. I would like to know whether I am missing something and this idea is actually stupid, which I guess is most likely the case.

Motivation

My understanding is that we need to mutually exclude & foo and &mut foo because foo may contain heap-allocated data and therefore & foo may be used to obtain a reference to heap-allocated data, which could then be rendered invalid by a change to foo through a &mut foo.

However, I stumbled across some limitations of this coarse-grained approach and read that they are well-known limitations. For example, replacing an element in a Vec does not reallocate the heap buffer, so it could be performed while another shared reference to the vector exists. Also, a shared reference to a vector could be safely used (in a single-threaded setting) to check the length of the vector while a mutable reference is used to push new elements to it, as checking the length does not require accessing the heap allocation. As the last example, in my understanding, a Box never frees its heap allocation until the destructor is called, so while the contents of the box can be modified by mutable references, this can never invalidate shared references, as those heap locations are never freed and reassigned to unrelated objects. They will always contain a (hopefully valid) instance of the correct type.