Newbie moving ownership question

Hi everyone. I am new to Rust and struggling to wrap my head around about moving ownership.
I cannot understand why the following works while...

#[derive(PartialEq, Eq, Clone, Debug)]
pub struct ListNode {
    pub val: i32,
    pub next: Option<Box<ListNode>>,
}

impl ListNode {
    #[inline]
    fn new(val: i32) -> Self {
        ListNode { next: None, val }
    }
}

type Link = Option<Box<ListNode>>;

fn recursively(head: Link, prev: Link) -> Link {
    if let Some(mut inner_head) = head {
        if let Some(next) = inner_head.next {
            inner_head.next = prev;
            recursively(Some(next), Some(inner_head))
        } else {
            inner_head.next = prev;
            Some(inner_head)
        }
    } else {
        None
    }
}

while it won't work anymore if I move inner_head.next = prev; up and outside the destructuring next block with compilation error:

42 |             if let Some(next) = inner_head.next {
   |                         ---- value moved here
43 |                 Self::recursively(Some(next), Some(inner_head))
   |                                                    ^^^^^^^^^^ value used here after partial move
   |
   = note: move occurs because value has type `std::boxed::Box<data_strucutures::reverse_linked_list::ListNode>`, which does not implement the `Copy` trait

It complains that it was moved at inner_head.next. I don't understand why accessing the field next is kind of a move.

Let's imagine what happens if we take the first branch of the if in each case:

Assignment inside if:

1. First we take out the value in inner_head.next and assign it the name next.
  2. Next we put a new value into inner_head.next, namely prev.

Assignment outside if:

1. First we replace the value inner_head.next with prev.
  2. Then we take out the value stored in inner_head.next, (that is, we take out prev).