NES Emulator in Rust

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Rust and am writing an NES Emulator. Would appreciate any feedback. This project is still a WIP.

Thanks!

A few suggestions:

• Use std::thread::sleep instead of busy loop in NESEmulator/src/main.rs at 951a3de211f0384eaad796293f5ad0153eb7c936 · MWJones96/NESEmulator · GitHub

• Also use std::time::{Duration, Instant} instead of SystemTime. The former are for monotonic timing, the latter is for wall-clock.
  • Use std::path::PathBuf instead of String when dealing with file paths: NESEmulator/src/util.rs at 951a3de211f0384eaad796293f5ad0153eb7c936 · MWJones96/NESEmulator · GitHub

• In this specific case, I would recommend something like:
    pub fn read_bytes_from_file<P: AsRef<Path>>(file_path: P) -> Result<Vec<u8>> {
        let file_path = file_path.as_ref();

// ...

Ok(bytes)
    }

• The P: AsRef<Path> generic parameter will allow the caller to pass anything that can be referenced as a Path, including other paths, UTF-8 strings, and strings with platform-defined encoding (e.g. OsString).

• Panicking when human-supplied inputs are invalid is not a nice user experience. You don't yet have human-supplied paths for the NES ROM, but you probably will someday. Return a Result and show a nice error message for the Err cases:

• "NES ROM file not found, path: `/foo/bar/game.nes`"
      • "File is not a valid NES ROM, path: `/foo/bar/game/nes`"
      • Etc. anyhow and thiserror can help you with your error handling.
  • SDL2 should only be necessary on Redox because minifb uses platform-specific window manager code on other platforms. You could also try softbuffer or pixels as an alternative to minifb

• In full disclosure, I am the author of pixels.
  • There's one dead_code warning.